Birchbox- February 2014

birchboxfeb3

As if my recent drugstore haul wasn’t enough, my February Birchbox also showed up last week– better late than never! I’m definitely enjoying the products in this month’s box, a special collaboration between Birchbox and US Weekly. Without further ado, here come the samples…

Skin&Co Roma Truffle Therapy Serum – This serum promises to smooth wrinkles and restore dull, dry skin with its blend of antioxidant ingredients, including truffle extract. I was weirdly hoping it would have a truffle scent, but instead it just has a faint perfumey smell. The serum has a light lotion-like consistency that absorbs quickly into the skin. I can’t tell any long term effects yet, but it also hasn’t over-dried my skin or broken me out, so no complaints either.

Skin&Co Roma Truffle Therapy Serum

Skin&Co Roma Truffle Therapy Serum

Harvey Prince “Hello” perfume – Hello is a fresh scent with notes of Meyer lemon, mandarin, grapefruit, forsythia, and plumeria– definitely a fragrance to usher in spring! I prefer more deep, woodsy scents myself, but this is a nice sized sample (loving the spray top!) that will be handy for travel.

Hello by Harvey Prince

Hello by Harvey Prince

OPI Sheer Tints in Don’t Violet Me Down – This sheer polish can be worn on the nails alone for a “wash of high-shine, translucent color” or layered over another polish to give it a glossy tinted effect. I’m loving the Geometric Nail Art tutorial on Birchbox’s website featuring several Sheer Tint shades, so I’ll have to give that a try. My only caution is to use your judgement on what colors will look good on bare nails– adding a blue or purple tint to nails I find makes one look a little dead/sickly, and I can’t imagine who would want the yellow tint either. In combination with a cream polish underneath, however, these look great!

OPI Sheer Tints in Violet Me Down

OPI Sheer Tints in Violet Me Down

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil – This protective hair oil, exclusive to Birchbox, promises to defend against UV rays, heat, and breakage and can be used on damp or dry hair. Adding a few drops to the ends of my dry hair before flat ironing left it smooth, shiny, and (hopefully!) protected. The sample size is nice and generous, but doesn’t come with a dropper or anything to prevent product from pouring out all over the place, so be careful when dispensing just a little bit into your hands!

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil

Beauty Protector Protect & Oil

Harney & Sons Fine Teas – I haven’t given these teas a try yet, but after my recent coffee boycott I was very happy to find these in my box as February’s lifestyle extra. With flavors like Cleansing White Vanilla Grapefruit (white tea with citrus tones) and Enlightening Paris (black tea with fruit and caramel) I’m excited to give these a taste.

Harvey & Sons Teas

Harvey & Sons Teas

If you received a Birchbox this month (or another subscription service) I’d love to know what products you received and how you’re liking them!

-LMC ♥

2 comments

Leave a Reply

