My Collection: Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquers

Welcome back to another “My Collection” post, where I share all of the colors/finishes I have from a certain product line. Today I’m featuring the Rimmel London Show Off Lip Lacquers.

rimmelshowoff1

Previously released in the UK as the “Rimmel Apocalips Lip Lacquer,” these hit US drugstore shelves as Show Off Lip Lacquers in Spring 2013. The Show Offs are available in 14 shades ranging from nudes and pinks to plums and reds, some with a cream finish and others containing shimmer. They truly live up to their “lacquer” name, going on rich and opaque with a gorgeous shine. These products have a great staying power, although their creamy consistency never really sets, so you may notice them transferring on to cup/utensils or migrating a bit outside the lip line as the day goes on. I find that quick reapplication and touch up with my finger around the edges of my lips helps to sort out any problems though. After seeing a tip on anther beauty blog I’ve also taken to dotting a bit of the lacquer on my cheeks and blending out with a stippling brush to wear them as a perfect cream blush. A little goes a long way, so be careful though. Overall, if you’re looking for a beautiful liquid lipstick (or cheek tint!) at a drugstore price point, the Rimmel Show Off Lip Lacquers receive my highest recommendation.

Currently in my collection are:

  • Celestial (101) – a cool mauve perfect for a neutral daytime look
  • Apocaliptic (303) – a shockingly bright fun fuchsia
  • Aurora (401) – a coraley pink, great for a fresh spring/summer look
  • Big Bang (400) – a bright true red that I’m loving for the holiday season
rimmelshowoff4

Note that the lighting makes these appear more cool toned and muted than their true colors. See the swatches below for a more accurate representation of each shade.

Left to Right: Celestial (101), Apocaliptic (303), Aurora (401), Big Bang (400).
Swatches on the left have no flash (which shows the truest colors) and swatches on the right have flash (which shows the glossy finish).

You’ll notice that I’ve kept my collection to all cream colors (no shimmer) and have skipped out on the lighter colors and nudes, which aren’t really my taste. If you’ve tried any of the sparkly or lighter shades though, I’d love to know what you think of them!

Do you have any Rimmel Show Off (or Apocalips) Lip Lacquers in your collection? Leave a comment and let me know what shades you’re loving.

-LMC ♥

Leave a Reply

