Fall Empties Week- Haircare

emptiescover

I’d like to dedicate this week to cleaning, de-cluttering, and starting fresh. I have been on a quest lately to free up some highly valuable real estate on the bathroom shelf (in a Manhattan apartment every inch comes at a premium), and in doing so have ended up with quite the pile of “empties,” products that are used up, expired, or generally gots-ta-go. This week I invite you to join me in celebrating empties. Whether it’s a makeup collection purge, closet clean out, or just using up some unwanted shampoo to clean your makeup brushes instead of pouring it down the drain, that the feeling of satisfaction when you carry your big bag of empties out to the recycling bin is awesome!

emptieshair

Let’s kick things off with my haircare empties. Below you’ll find a list of the products I’ve used up, as well as a mini-review and my thoughts on whether I plan to repurchase.

Psssst! Instant Dry Shampoo – This did the job as a good dry shampoo, but didn’t seem any different from others I’ve tried. Depending on what’s available and on sale at my local drugstores, I’d buy it again.

Paul Mitchell Tea Tree Special Shampoo – This actually belonged to my boyfriend, but I helped him finish up the bottle. It does a great job deep cleaning the scalp and leaves a cool tingly feeling; however, I think I can find a less expensive clarifying shampoo, so I probably will not repurchase.

L’oreal Total Repair 5 Damage Erasing Balm – I picked this up based on claims it was a drugstore dupe for the Macadamia Deep Repair Mask. I haven’t shelled out the cash for the Macademia mask yet, so I’m not sure how closely it compares, but I would say the L’oreal version is a quality deep conditioning treatment. My only complaint is the packaging, which is a little bulky and difficult to open in the shower. I’ll likely go back to my Aussie 3 Minute Miracle before buying this one again.

Clear Strong Lengths Conditioner – With some creative couponing at CVS I managed to score this bottle for free, with the intent on using it in place of the Vo5 conditioner I typically use to shave my legs. This proved surprisingly rich (too thick for leg shaving) and was a good backup conditioner to take on trips. If the price was right I would repurchase, but I won’t be running back out for it.

Trader Joe’s Organic Virgin Coconut Oil – You know how the father in My Big Fat Greek Wedding thinks Windex is the cure for absolutely everything? I have to admit I’m starting to reach that status with coconut oil. I’ve started using it on my skin, teeth, and in cooking, but my absolute favorite use is as a deep conditioner for my hair. After my continual bleaching sessions this summer I have to credit coconut oil with saving my hair from falling straight out of my head. It’s the most effective, gentle, and inexpensive conditioning treatment I’ve come across, and I will continue to repurchase.

I hope you enjoyed taking a peek into my haircare empties, and please join me the rest of the week for posts on the makeup, body, and skincare items I’ve recently used up as well. See you then!

-LMC ♥

4 comments

  1. Hello there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. Im going to watch out for brussels. Ill be grateful if you continue this in future. A lot of people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

