Face of the Day: Colorful Eye Makeup from Sephora

I attended another class at my local Sephora recently, this time on techniques for rocking colorful eye makeup. While I have my share of colorful shadows, and a colored liner or two, I’m still not 100% confident in putting together an eyeshadow look that isn’t mainly neutral. When given the choice between using shades of blue, purple, or green at the class I opted for blue, as it seemed most of out my comfort zone and I wanted to hear what tips the instructors could offer me. Overall, I’d say it turned out pretty good!

sephoracolorfuleyes

The look began with a foundation of eye cream and primer– first  the Caudalie Premier Cru The Eye Cream, which I found extremely thick and hydrating, and followed up with Sephora Perfecting Eye Primer. Next we created a simple eye look using an all over cream-colored shadow and a slightly deeper brown in the crease. Now it was time for the color! Our instructor Melissa recommended I try the Sephora Contour Eye Pencil in “My Boyfriend’s Jeans”, a deep electric blue. I was a little hesitant, but after adding a bit to my tightline and smudging some on my upper lashline I was loving the look! We could have called it a day at that point, but instead went for an even more dramatic look by layering on some Lancome Long Wear Calligraphy Gel Eyeliner in “Indigo Darling” and adding a bit of the royal blue shimmer shade from the Lancome Color Design palette in “Midnight Rush” to my crease and lower lashline. After that I popped on a bit of Dolce & Gabbana Secret Eyes Lengthening Mascara and my colorful eye look was complete!

I loved having the opportunity to try some new products at this class (and was surprised by how much I enjoyed the Sephora eyeliner and Lancome shadows!) and receive one-on-one tips from Sephora instructors. I have already signed up for two more upcoming courses, this time featuring holiday/party eye makeup and false lashes, and I’ll certainly report back on what new techniques I learn and products I get to try. In the meantime, I’m really loving the look I created and have added the “My Boyfriend’s Jeans” liner to the top of my to-buy list! If you have any other recommendations for colorful liners or shadows you love, please leave a comment and let me know. See you soon!

-LMC ♥

4 comments

    1. Thank you! The class at Sephora was great for giving me the confidence to try some bold colors I never would have picked before :)

      -LMC ♥

Leave a Reply

