Birchbox- October 2013

Welcome back! As I mentioned yesterday, my October Birchbox finally arrived yesterday just as I was publishing my Weekend Wrap-up. We were about to run out the door for dinner plans, but I took a few minutes to rip the box open and check out what samples I received this month. I’ll warn you right now, I’m not too happy with this box overall, but I’ll try to hold back and tell you about the products I received before we get to my final impressions.

birchbox oct13

This month my box contained Benefit Cosmetics Fake Up undereye concealer in Light, POP Beauty Aqua Lacquer in Flowering Fuchsia, Evologie Stay Clear Cream, Ruffian Nail Lacquer in Hedge Fund, and the Birchbox Find- Chapstick Hydration Lock lip balm in Vanilla. These are all new products to me, and the first time I’ve tried anything from the Evologie and Ruffian brands. Overall I was happy to see the mix of skincare and makeup items, without any samples “wasted” on foil packets, perfumes, or weird “lifestyle extras”. I’ve only given everything a preliminary test at this point, so I’ll give you my initial thoughts below. If you’re interested in a full review on any of the items in this month’s box, just let me know!

Benefit Fake Up concealer- As someone with dry skin, as soon as I heard about the formula of this relatively new undereye concealer from Benefit I was intrigued. It combines a center core of pigmented concealer with an outer ring of moisturizing balm, which you can immediately see upon opening the classy silver and pink packaging. While the tube is rather large, the actual amount of product in this sample is rather small, but that isn’t my biggest gripe. I found Fake Up rich and creamy to apply, but sadly it did very little to cover the moderate discoloration under my eyes. For those of you looking for a heavy duty concealer to brighten up your tired raccoon eyes, I’d skip Fake Up.

POP Beauty Aqua Lacquer- I knew off the bat that this probably wouldn’t be my favorite, as glosses typically come in last on my list of most used lip products. While I appreciate the wand for ease of application, the sticky and gloopy nature of the product leaves much to be desired. That consistency, coupled with its harsh chemical smell, would keep me from ever using this gloss. I have to admit, the color is pretty and would probably look nice as a subtle wash of pink or layered over a brighter pink lipstick or liner, but I doubt I’ll reach for this anytime soon (or ever).

Evologie Stay Clear Cream- I haven’t given this product a test yet, although its hefty full size price tag ($62 for a 1 oz. tube) gives me high hopes for its effectiveness. I’m a little confused as to what exactly it’s supposed to do– the Birchbox description just says, “Moisturizer that protects skin and balances oil levels with a patent-pending YS3 COMPLEX.”  I’m a little nervous this could over-dry my already dry/sensitive skin, so I’ll likely do a spot test on my chin to see how it handles the PMS face demons currently cropping up there.

Ruffian Nail Lacquer- Again, I haven’t used this polish yet, although it is a decent sized sample (probably 3/4 the size of a full bottle) and the formula appears pretty opaque based on a swatch I did. I really like the color for fall, I’ve actually been on a hunt for the perfect gold/olive/green/khaki eye color, and this is very close to what I’ve been searching for in nail polish form. Once I give it a go on my nails I’ll let you know how it works out.

Chapstick Hydration Lock- There isn’t too much to say about this product, as most of you have probably tried Chapstick or a similar drugstore lip balm. It does the job, but isn’t necessarily my favorite lip product for shine or hydration. Most likely I’ll end up re-gifting this one to the boyfriend.

Overall I’d say I’m lukewarm about my October Birchbox. Some of the products don’t entirely suit my taste, but might be a hit for other subscribers. My biggest disappointment was that my box didn’t include the Liz Earle Cleanse & Polish that it seems nearly everyone else received. I’ve been dying to try Cleanse & Polish and thought it was likely all subscribers would receive a sample since Birchbox featured the product so heavily in their advertising this month. I guess that’s the risk you take with monthly subscription boxes, but I’ll keep my fingers crossed that next month I get a few more products that are up my alley.

Do you receive a monthly Birchbox or another subscription sample box? If so I’d love to hear what products you’re testing out at the moment!

-LMC ♥

Leave a Reply

