Weekend Wrap-up #1

Fall temperatures hit New York City this past weekend, and I for one am enjoying the fresh crisp in the air. Even more lovely than the autumnal weather was the weekend’s anniversary celebration with my wonderful boyfriend. Rather than buying presents we opted to surprise one another by planning celebratory activities around the city. I’d been speculating on what his plans would hold, but I managed to make it to Friday night with only the instructions to “be ready at 7:30 pm and wear something nice.”

I opted for a coral red dress from Target that was a perfect match to my new Lady Danger lipstick by MAC. The boyfriend sported a gray H&M blazer with Diesel jeans and some notable anxiety as our cabbie wove through side streets as we tried to make it down to SoHo in time for our reservation. We pulled up at L’Ecole just in time, as I let out a gasp of excitement when our evening’s plans were revealed.

L’Ecole is the award-winning restaurant run by the students and instructors of NYC’s International Culinary Center, and a spot that I’d been dying to try for months. After settling in at our cozy table for two we began with an amuse bouche of salted cod croquette (for him) and chilled corn soup (for me). Next our appetizers arrived- a hearty market salad for me featuring kale, roasted beets, walnuts, and green apples and a house-made pasta with peas and mushrooms in a Parmesan broth for him. The mushrooms were by far some of the most delicious I’ve ever tasted, and luckily my boyfriend was kind enough to let me steal a few from his plate! For the entree course I had a roasted eggplant topped with a tomato jam and homemade ricotta on a grilled flatbread and my boyfriend enjoyed a perfectly cooked roast duck and potato terrine. Finally we wrapped up the delicious meal with a hazelnut cake and Earl Grey ice cream, coconut pannacotta, and fruit tartlette with cinnamon and date ice cream for dessert.

Overall our meal was excellent, and was nicely complimented by our gracious server who answered all of our questions and guided me seamlessly towards the menu’s vegetarian options. As amateur foodies this was the perfect surprise outing for our anniversary, and we’re already planning our next trip to L’Ecole on a special occasion the next time family are visiting the city.

Saturday afternoon was time for my activity, a secret that I successfully kept until we walked up to Pier 62 to check in to our sunset cruise on the Schooner Adirondack. A bit of a cheeseball outing, I know, but I wanted to give us both a memorable and relaxing evening doing something together that we’d never done before. We boarded the 80-foot sailboat just prior to sunset and got settled in on a bench on the port side. We enjoyed a small picnic and a few Pork Slap ales and took in gorgeous views of the downtown skyline and Statue of Liberty. Aside from a few rowdy gents out for a bachelor party the majority of our shipmates were a tranquil bunch, and the sunset over the water and quiet flapping of the sails made for the perfect evening of relaxation.

Saturday's trip on the Schooner Adirondack

Saturday’s trip on the Schooner Adirondack

 

All in all it was a lovely weekend full of new memories that marked an excellent way to celebrate our first year together. It was tough to head back to real life this morning with an early conference call, but I suppose it’s just four more days until our next fun weekend. I’ll be back with another Weekend Wrap-up next Monday to share what we’ve been up to since then!

-LMC ♥

One comment

Leave a Reply

