Visit to Birchbox Local

I wrapped up a lovely weekend today with an awesome visit to the Birchbox Local shop in Chelsea Market. Chelsea Market, just a few blocks south of my apartment, is one of my favorite local spots to shop for books, art, home decor, and gourmet food. Needless to say, I was thrilled to find out that Chelsea Market was also the site of the Birchbox Local shop, a site for press and bloggers to relax during New York Fashion Week, and open to the public for a select few days following the wrap of NYFW.

For a beauty-loving woman, walking into Birchbox Local was like sending a sweets-obsessed youngster into Willy Wonka’s factory. Upon entry you’re greeted by the sample bar, a candy shoppe style bar filled with bins of various samples that visitors can select to customize their own Birchbox. Walking further inside there are shelves and counters full of Birchbox Editors’ picks, showcasing some of their most beloved products available for purchase as well. Finally, the back section of the shop was reserved for hair, make up, and nail services.

Products for sale and the Birchbox Local shop.

Products for sale at the Birchbox Local shop.

 

I had previously reserved an appointment online, so I headed to the back of the shop and was met by the smiling Amanda, who offered me a bottle of water and ushered me back to the nail area. I waited a few minutes for my turn with the nail techs and debated on which Color Club polish I should choose for my manicure. The waiting area was outfitted with comfy white couches, jars upon jars of candy, and televisions playing beauty reviews and tutorials.

birchboxnails

Color Club polish choices & my finished mani in Editorial.

 

After my nails were finished I headed out to the sample bar to start the difficult task of choosing only 5 items to add to my box. There were about 30 choices ranging from make up, skincare, hair products, a perfumes. I decided to opt for products I hadn’t tried before, and those I knew to be a little higher price point to get the must bang for my buck. I would have loved to snap some photos of the sample bar, but it was so crowded the entire time I was there that it was impossible to get a good photo. If you’re interested though, search #birchboxlocal on Twitter or Instagram to see the fun others have had on their visits!

Ultimately I chose a sample of the Smashbox Hydrating Photo Finish Primer, a Beauty Blender, DDF Protective Eye Cream, Benefit’s Gimme Brow in light/medium, and Marcelle’s Gentle Make-up Remover. Four out of the five products are full-sized, and I estimate that my box is worth a retail value of over $100, so not only did I have a fun afternoon, but I got a great deal!

birchboxsamples

 

I plan to give these new products and try and report back on my thoughts soon. I’d love to hear your opinions if there’s anything in my box that you’ve tested out before. Also, if there’s something you’d particularly like to see in a future review, please leave a comment! I hope you’ll come back tomorrow for my Weekend Wrap-Up post, since I’ve done a lot of exciting non-makeup related things this weekend that I’d love to share with you. See you then!

-LMC ♥

Leave a Reply

